top of page

book four of 'the mis-adventures of Alyson Bell' YA series

The Door of the Thousand Keys

Keeping in succession with the turning of the wheel of the year ~

Keywords for this book: Imbolc, Candlemas, rebirth, discovery of shadow self, light and shadows, listening to the unseen voice, soul travel, snuffing out the darkness like a candle (synopsis to follow)


Book Four ~

Book four, released on 10/10/2010 ... it is a bridge book, capping up the ending to book three and merging it with the eclipse, passing through it into book five. Eclipses bring unseen shadows we are forced to confront and incorporate.

When we feel that all hope is lost, we see our shadow self and have a choice to surrender to our inner-most demons or to fight.  Alyson meets her own shadow and wrestles for possession of her soul.  Will she lose someone special in the process… herself? Alyson continues from when we left off in our last adventure, ready to face many new tasks and trials set about by the Elders.  Will she finally uncover who she really is?


Like diamonds, they shimmer within the eyes, windows to the soul.  The eyes are said to reveal a person’s truest nature.  Other times they open a portal to a darker world, those with hollow eyes and very little soul – as they are seeking yours to steal to replace the lack of their own.  It began with Hremm Nevar.  There is only one soul other than Alyson’s that can battle these thieves, and it must combine with Alyson – her twin flame.  But first, she must find him.  The heart is her only clue.  She must open another door, …The Door of The Thousand Keys.

Join Alyson Bell in The Door of the Thousand Keys, the fourth in the mis-adventures of Alyson Bell series. This book is considered a "bridge" between book three and book five. It is told from the perspective of teenager Alyson Bell. This young adult paranormal romance novel is approximately 65,000 words. Readers who enjoy authors V.C. Andrews, Marissa Meyer, and older readers of J.K. Rowling will certainly take interest in this hauntingly, adventurous novel.


It is targeted for girls aged 15-18, but appropriate for anyone 15+, , as this novel delves into some deeper teen issues and is not appropriate for a younger audience. This is the darkest book in the series and contains many frightening scenes for younger children under age 13.


The book is not stand alone and is part of a series beginning with The Ghost of Colby Drive, The Curse of the Moonless Knight and The Oracle of the Missing Dryad. It is recommended these previous books be a part of your collection prior to enjoying book four.


Release date: 10/10/10

Paperback, 274 pages

Published October 10th 2010 by Tenth Muse Books

ISBN: 0981131549 (ISBN13: 9780981131542)

OCLC: 779682392

Description: 274, 3 p. : ill. ; 23 cm.

Edition Language: English

Series: The Mis-Adventures of Alyson Bell #4

WorldCat: link


Kindle edition, 203 pages

Published May 16th 2012 by The Tenth Muse Books (first published 2007)

ASIN: B00845NG36

Read reviews on Goodreads

Buy the book:

bottom of page